Pizza Night – Kale, Garlic, and Mushroom Pizza

Yes, you read that right.  That says KALE pizza.  Trust me, it’s good!

Monday night is Pizza Night at our house.  My husband and son head off for Monday Night Football to a local pizza joint.  I’m welcome to go, but it’s boy’s night.  We have found several places in town that serve gluten-free pizza, but this place isn’t one of them.  And I love pizza.  So the guys go and have their fun and I make my own pizza at home and take the evening for myself to catch up on housework, writing, and (at the moment) prepare for the impending move!

Warning: I like different or unique sorts of pizza.  My husband orders pepperoni pizza every week, and he will try something different, but I always go for the “unique” ones on a menu.  Gluten-free pizza is expensive in the grocery store and even more so in a restaurant, so we reserve it for a special treat.  It’s so easy to make yourself it’s rare we go out for it anymore.  I found a recipe for gluten-free crust that is my favorite out of several I’ve tried and I recommend you do the same; experiment and see what you like.  Your oven and the pan you use will make a difference; the very same recipe I use turns out completely different on two different pans (I actually prefer how it turns out stretched onto a jelly-roll pan versus my round pizza stone), but it’s a matter of taste.

With pizza, anything goes.  My favorite toppings include a homemade tomato sauce (super easy that makes enough to freeze – I’ll share it another time) and whatever veggies I have on hand.  My favorites include tomatoes, olives, artichoke hearts, zucchini or eggplant, mushrooms, and different herbs.  But I like to try new things too.  (The last pizza recipe I made before this had fresh figs on it.  Yes… Fresh. Figs.  Weird but man, it was good!)

This pizza has no sauce, only a drizzle of olive oil.  The original recipe came from Martha Stewart and I tweaked it a bit according to what I had in the fridge, what was on sale at the store, and what I like – as I said, anything goes.  I used my favorite gluten-free crust recipe and a dairy-free cheese (it’s made from raw cow’s milk from grass-fed cows and is much easier on our tummies).  The original recipe called for Gruyere cheese, which would be really good I’m sure, but I think it’s prolifically expensive (almost three times as much as the raw milk cheese which is already a bit more than regular cheese). 

There are some different dairy-free alternatives out there and don’t be afraid to experiment.  According to what your tummy can handle try a sheep or goat’s milk cheese; sounds weird but they’re pretty good on pizza and are either very low or have no lactose at all.  There are also some cheeses made from soy and rice milks that are ok, but I’ve eliminated soy from our diets and the rice milk one has too many additives for my taste.  I just mentioned that to say there are alternatives out there and again, it’s a matter of taste.  We even leave the cheese off sometimes!  With a bunch of yummy, rich toppings you might be surprised how little you miss it!

Experiment and have fun.  This tastes like kale chips on bread with cheese.  I LOVED it.  I think it’s the best pizza I’ve ever made, and I think I’ve made some darn good ones.  I hope you like it too!

(Sorry there’s no picture.  I should have thought ahead, but I didn’t and ate it all before I could take one and then thought to post the recipe!)

 

Kale, Garlic, and Mushroom Pizza

Ingredients

3-4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided

2 garlic cloves, sliced

1 bunch kale (about 1 pound), stems removed and thinly sliced

¼ – ½ a large onion (depending on taste)

About 1/3 – ½ cup fresh mushrooms, sliced

Coarse salt

1 recipe pizza dough  (this is my current favorite:  http://www.food.com/recipe/gluten-free-pizza-dough-264044 )

1 cup grated cheese of choice

Pinch red-pepper flakes (optional)

 

Directions

  1. Follow directions for preparing your pizza dough; typically you’ll need to prebake it 10-15 minutes before adding your toppings.
  2. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Cook garlic, and onion until just tender.  Add kale and mushrooms and cook, stirring, until tender, about 5 minutes.  Working in batches, add leaves and cook until just wilted about 5 minutes (let one batch begin to wilt before adding the next).  Season with salt and set aside.
  3. Stretch dough onto your pizza pan.  Brush with another tablespoon or two of oil and season with salt.  Sprinkle with half the cheese then top with kale mixture and sprinkle with remaining cheese.  (A tip I learned from the hubby’s Italian grandma…)  Drizzle a little olive oil all over the top of the pizza before adding it to the oven.  (She did this to even store-bought      frozen pizza and it works!  Adds color and richness.)
  4. Transfer to the oven.  Bake until cheese is bubbly and crust is golden, about 15-20 minutes.  Sprinkle with pepper flakes, if desired.

 

Note:  Other veggies would be good here too.  A lot of the measurements I added are guesses – I didn’t measure much and just added until I thought it looked good!  Again, personal taste I guess.  Enjoy!

 

Emily

Leave a Reply

