Pompom Pink Baby Hat

Image

            I made this adorable little hat for my sweet new cousin, Scarlett.  Ssh, don’t tell!  I haven’t sent it to her mom yet!  It’s going in the mail tomorrow but I was so excited about it I wanted to share.  I think it came out so cute and I’m extra excited because this is the first crochet pattern I’m sharing!

            The original hat pattern came from a little booklet I had lying around and I improvised here and there and this is the end result.  I had found the yarn already and loved it and changed the pattern a bit to suit it.  Then when it was done I thought it needed a little something extra and I remembered I had a skein of light pink Fun Fur yarn and just knew I had to embellish it!

            I love the end result, and I love these big square hats on babies.  I hope little Scarlett and her mama do too!  (If she lets me, I’ll post a pic of sweet Scarlett modeling it!)

 

Yarn

Worsted weight #4 yarn, 100% acrylic, [3-1/2 oz/100g]

(I used 2 skeins Serenity Sprinkles from the Deborah Norville Collection by Premier Yarns in the color, “In the Pink” plus a little bit of Fun Fur yarn by Lion Brand Yarn in a light pink.)

 

Crochet Hook

I-9 or size needed for gauge

Yarn needle, if desired

 

Size Information

Size:  To fit 6 months baby

 

Gauge Information

13 sts and 11 rows = 4” in pattern stitch

 

Hat

Ch 47 (51)

Row 1:  Sc in 2nd ch from hook and in each ch across – 46 sc.

Row 2:  Ch 1, turn, sc in first st, dc in next st, *sc in next st, dc in next; repeat from * across.

Repeat row 2 until piece measures 6-3/4” from beginning.

Fasten off.

 

Strap

Make 2

Row 1: Sc in 2nd ch from hook and each ch across – 36 sc.

Fasten off.

 

Finishing

Fold Hat in half and sew closed along side edges.  Centering seam in center of Back, sew closed along top edge.  (There are 2 ways you can do this; you can use a yarn needle and it’s quite easy, but I like to use my crochet hook and sew closed with a slip st.  In my experience it’s a stronger seam and holds better.)

Sew one end of each Strap along lower edge at each side.  Add Pompoms if desired.

 

Pompom 1

Make 2

If you’ve never made a Pompom before they are very easy.  A piece of cardboard works great, but I was winging it and didn’t want them too big, so I used my fingers.  For number 1 I used 3 fingers.  If you’ve never made a Pompom before they are very easy.  A piece of cardboard works great, but I was winging it and didn’t want them too big, so I used my fingers.  For number 1 I used 3 fingers.   In Fun Fur yarn, wrap around your fingers 10 times.  Cut yarn leading to skein and slide off your fingers.  Cut a long piece of yarn and double it; slide it through center of “ring” of wrapped yarn and tie with a double knot.  Cut the loop in the center; fluff out Pompom and trim if needed.  Use ends of knotted strand to attach Pompom in each of 2 top corners of hat.

 

Pompom 2

Make 2

Proceed as with Pompom 1 but wrap around only 2 fingers.  Finish as directed above then attach to end of each strap.

 

Weave in ends.

 

Have a great week!

Emily

Leave a Reply

