Real Food Camping Pselos-Style

Image

          My husband and I fell in love on a camping trip.  Every summer growing up the youth group of my church went on a several-day camping/canoe trip and in the summer of 1995 my husband came to my home town in Nebraska from California to visit his sister.  To make a long story short we had met before, when his sister moved to my hometown, and had been writing each other for some time (with pen, paper, and stamps!  It wasn’t until near the end of our courtship we were able to start e-mailing each other; gosh, that makes me feel old).  So, we were already friends.  His sister thought he’d enjoy the time with kids his age so she came along on the camping trip as a chaperone and my (future) husband as a guest.

            It was kismet.  Or something like it.  The whole trip we were literally thrust together again and again.  We’d get on the bus to find only one seat left and have to sit together.  Our seats would be next to each other at dinner.  And the big one – when it came time to pick partners for the two-man canoes we were the only two without a partner.  You see, you had to ride in a canoe with someone who had been along before and everyone else was paired up.  It was hilarious; I had been canoeing before but had never steered the canoe.  It was interesting and there are several funny stories from that weekend.  We were stranded on sand bars several times or there was how we went through “The Chute” backwards (a rather tricky part of the river where it abruptly dropped several feet and could be a bit treacherous if you weren’t careful; no one believed us we went down backwards and came out unscathed!).

            Suffice it to say, you stick two people alone in a canoe for three days and one of two things are going to happen – they’re either going to end up loving or hating each other.  Luckily, our result was the former over the latter.  My mom actually joked at our wedding reception three years later, “Don’t send your kids on the youth group canoe trip because THIS is what happens!”  She was joking of course, and she and my dad love my husband, but that is how our love story started.

            Ironically, I’m not much of an outdoor girl.  I’m more of the “glam-ping” type.  I’ll go camping in a tent but with one condition – there has to be an actual bathroom – no holes in the ground.  We started our camping adventures tent camping and had a lot of fun but we haven’t been in years.  Then we decided to upgrade and last month rented a 22-foot trailer complete with a real bed, air conditioning, our own bathroom and shower, and all the other comforts of home – my kind of camping! 

            I was posting to Instagram bits of our trip but never did an actual post about it.  As we are planning our next trip in a few days and I am thinking of ideas I decided to share our trip with you!

            I was posting what I did to show how easy real food camping can be.  It takes a little more prep but not that much more planning and I have to say I wasn’t as organized as I thought and ended up doing most of our prep the day before and even some the morning of, and it all got done and we ate some really yummy food!  Here’s a break-down of what we had.

            We’ve eliminated most processed foods from our diets but that doesn’t mean there aren’t some good convenience foods out there.  I bought a package of pre-cut fruit salad for convenience (and because it looked good!) of pineapple, watermelon, cantaloupe, and honeydew; I also had a bunch of fresh bananas plus apples and mango.  We stopped at our favorite local farm stand on our way out of town for a case of bottled water and a couple of last minute things.  We all wanted something cold to drink and I got myself a freshly squeezed juice (carrot, lemon, ginger, and kale) and only drank part of it; it lasted most of the weekend.  While there I splurged and bought us pre-made muffins from the bakery there.  They have these Paleo muffins that are amazing.  I don’t buy them often but they are such a treat.  I got me one for each morning and muffins and biscuits for hubby and Blessing.

            As far as convenience foods go I also bought flavored coconut water, a great way to rehydrate – it was going to be hot!  If I buy it and don’t make it I usually buy a big container of the plain but I splurged again and got several of the little flavored ones; flavored for a treat and the smaller bottles since they are more portable.  (Check your labels to make sure they aren’t loaded with sugar; the ones I found were just coconut water and real fruit purée.)  I also bought some dried fruit (you’ll see the dates in the picture but we also had raisins and dried pineapple).  I bought hubby some chips and salsa; not something I do often but I wanted a fun treat for him and he loves it.  The salsa is something I can make but I did a little picking and choosing what I was willing to make or buy.  You don’t want to start your trip all worn out and stressed out! 

            On to what I made.  For snacks I made hubby some homemade popcorn.  I simply put some coconut oil (about 1/3 cup or so) in the bottom of a good-sized saucepan with a little sea salt over medium-high to high heat.  To that I added ½ cup popcorn kernels and swirled it well to coat the kernels with the oil.  Cover and continue to swirl it every so often until it starts to pop.  It is so simple and he loves it.  A big bag of that lasted him all weekend and made an easy, very portable, and wholesome real food snack.

            For meals and for snacking I sliced up some fresh vegetables, carrots and cucumber, and bought some grape tomatoes (which hubby loves).  I usually make my own bread but I bought some grain free buns (by Against the Grain Gourmet) and served me up some tuna sandwiches with raw milk cheddar and homemade Seed Crackers (recipe at http://www.wholefoodsimply.com/seed-crackers/ – they are grain, nut, egg, and dairy free and I use savory instead of sweet seasonings) and homemade sauerkraut.  I had a loaf of sourdough bread with some natural peanut butter and some Applegate Farms lunchmeat for hubby and Blessing.

            For dinners I had planned hot grilled sandwiches for over the fire and foil packs.  I made two kinds of foil packs, chicken and beef, and half had white potato and the other half sweet potato (hubby does not eat completely Paleo and he doesn’t care for sweet potato).  I seasoned the meat simply with some sea salt and pepper plus garlic.  Then I sliced the potatoes and added some frozen broccoli.  I added dallops of ghee to hubby’s and coconut oil to me and Blessing’s before wrapping them up tight and they were ready for the fire!  (I did that all ahead of time, by the way, at home.)

            We just needed a fire!  Both nights we were there the wind blew too much until too late in the evening for a campfire in time for dinner so we had sandwiches or just lunchmeat and cheese, veggies, fruit, and chips/crackers.  Luckily, I had taken a lot of everything so we had a nice variety, although we were ready for a hot meal when we got home on Sunday!  That night the wind was good so we headed down to the pool of our apartment complex and grilled our foil packs on one of the barbecue grills there!  We enjoyed them poolside and they were very yummy.

            For treats I made some Cashew Chocolate Chip Cookies that were grain free, gluten free, and dairy free.  They were really good and a perfect sweet in the afternoon after some time at the splash pad or after dinner.  You can find the recipe, by The Paleo Mom, for those here: http://www.thepaleomom.com/2014/02/chocolate-chip-cookies.html.  (I used palm shortening so they would be dairy free and honey in place of the evaporated cane juice; both worked fine and they were a yummy treat.)

            We’re heading out on our second camping trip this weekend, and are so excited!  We are staying an extra day this time and having a company picnic.  Our transportation business is celebrating its one year anniversary so this is a celebration of that and a chance to show our appreciation to our employees.  We’ve asked everyone to bring a side dish to share and we are grilling hamburgers.  I’ll make myself something I can eat but also share (I’m thinking about a sweet potato salad).  I’m also making some homemade ice cream and considering a batch of our favorite coconut flour cupcakes.

            I’ll be making popcorn again for hubby and I already have some grain free muffins in the freezer.  There’ll be sandwich fixings and sauerkraut, plus foil packs again – only this time with fish.  We are taking a small barbecue grill along this time that we can move out of the wind if need be, and I’m also planning some grilled steaks and chicken one night we’ll serve over salad greens.  They’ll be lots of fresh fruit and veggies, dried fruit, and I may buy some Larabars or make an extra batch of muffins or cookies for snacking along with some sparkling water and Kombucha.

            I finally bought my first Great Lakes grass-fed gelatin and can’t wait to make my first marshmallows but we’ll see if I have time.  I searched and searched on the last trip for some all-natural ones and had no luck.  I was shocked what’s in conventional marshmallows.  Corn syrup wasn’t a huge surprise, but that’s a no-no for me, there were a few ingredients I couldn’t recognize (or pronounce for that matter), and the big surprise?  Artificial coloring…blue!  I thought, ‘Um, these are white!  What’s the blue coloring for?’  I have no idea.  I have found a recipe that is just gelatin, water, honey, and arrowroot powder.  That’s it.  Hopefully I’ll have time to make some; I want s’mores!

            It is possible to go real food camping!  It wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought, and we ate some really yummy food, had several treats, but still stayed within my Paleo lifestyle and everything else was “real food.”  It’s all about balance and give and take.  I’ve found some great suggestions and articles on Pinterest and even created a “Camping” board.  You can find it at http://  www.pinterest.com/epselos/camping/.  I’m open to any suggestions or ideas you may have too!  I’ll surely be posting to Instagram again on this next trip and you can follow me here:  http://www.intagram.com/preciousbelovedblessing

            Our first camping trip was a huge success and the little guy had a ball.  The campground was beautiful and the lovely picture of the lake?  That was from our campsite!  The weather was a little hot in the middle of the day but cool in the mornings and evenings and we had air conditioning in the trailer (a perk of “Glam-ping!”) and the campground has a splash pad to keep cool (which our little one absolutely LOVES).  I planned for everything and had coats, sweatshirts, and jeans packed along with our bathing suits and shorts and tank tops!  I’d always rather have it and not need it, and the sweatshirts were great at night around the campfire.

            For entertaining the little guy there was the splash pad that I mentioned and a big park that was a lot of fun.  We had his little toddler bike for him to ride, his wagon, and a stroller.  I let him pick out several toys and books to pack in a bag and we had a portable DVD player for music or a short movie at bedtime.  We packed his port-a-crib with his blankets and favorite snuggle toys to be familiar and for outside we had a couple of outdoor toys and a bubble machine.  He got very dirty, scraped up both knees, and likely ate a little dirt, but he had a ball!  And that was what it was all about.

            Don’t stress the small stuff.  Make some concessions here or there if you need to.  I’m not completely worried that everything I put in my mouth is 100% Paleo.  I’m more worried whether or not it’s going to create an immune response or tummy trouble, so I focus mostly on just good, clean food.  We’re still on a budget and so I make most of what I can and have made some concessions, but I think I’m making it work pretty well.  I am still strictly no grain but have found I can handle small amounts of raw milk cheese or goat’s milk.  I can oddly handle eggs ok if they baked into something but have a mixed response to straight eggs, so I overall stay away from those and consider them a treat.  I also have a mixed reaction to nuts, so those are a treat as well. 

            My point?  I have found what works for me.  There is no one-size-fits-all rule here.  Find a balance, what works for you, what you like, and don’t forget to enjoy the journey.  Stay tuned!  I’ll work up another post next week about the upcoming trip.

 

Have a great day!

Emily

Leave a Reply

