Em’s Paleo Granola (Plus How and Why to Soak or Sprout Your Nuts and Seeds)

Image

            Since going completely grain-free three months ago I’ve found several ways to recreate old favorites but one thing I do miss is oats.  I have always loved oatmeal in all its different forms, but I have loved creating fun and yummy granola recipes.  It is so expensive to buy but easy to make yourself and the possibilities are endless.

            Until I stopped eating grains that is and oats were out!  I still have them around the house and make them for my son.  He loves them and overnight oats are one of his favorite breakfasts.  I love the portability of granola and have been on the search for some good Paleo snacks that won’t break the bank.  I have found a couple of granola-like recipes on Pinterest and have tried some good ones but most are…kind of boring.

            Are you grain free?  Most of the recipes I have found that mimic oats call for coconut.  And like oat-based granola it seemed simple.  Your base (in this case coconut) some nuts and dried fruit, a sweetener and liquid of some kind to hold it all together and some seasoning and voila!  I found a recipe last week I liked the best of those I’d tried so far, but it still needed something so I set to tweaking and adding some of the things I’d tried in other recipes or simply just liked, I created my own and wanted to share.  It’s a little sweet and full of nuts, so that means a treat for me.  I’ve had mixed reactions to nuts, but find if I limit the amount I eat I do ok.  This is filling and just sweet enough.  I keep mine dairy-free with some cold coconut milk but it was also very good on top of some goat’s milk yogurt.  Need some extra sweet?  Try adding some Enjoy Life chocolate chips!

This is very versatile so feel free to change the ingredients according to your family’s tastes or what you have in your pantry (read to the end for a note on properly preparing and storing your nuts and seeds).  Full of healthy fats from the coconut oil, nuts, and seeds, in addition to protein and Omega-3’s, plus no refined sugar this is a healthier version of a breakfast treat I hope your family enjoys as much as mine does.   My husband doesn’t care for coconut, but raved about this, so give it a try.  Here it is!

 

Em’s Paleo Granola (Grain-Free, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar Free)

 

Ingredients

2 cups coconut chips (shredded would be fine too, but I like the larger flakes for granola.  Also, check the ingredients to make sure there are no added ingredients, like sugar or anything artificial; there should be one thing only on the ingredient list: coconut!)

¼ cup cashews*

¼ cup sunflower seeds*

¼ cup pumpkin seeds*

¼ cup pecans*

1/3 cup maple syrup or honey, or a mixture of both

1/3 cup coconut oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ teaspoon cinnamon

¼ cup chia seeds

¼ cup hemp seeds

½ cup raisins, dried cranberries, or other dried fruit

 

Process

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Melt coconut oil with maple syrup and/or honey in a small saucepan over medium heat until it starts to bubble and simmer.  Remove from heat and add vanilla.
  3. In a large bowl, mix the coconut chips, cashews, pumpkin seeds, pecans, cinnamon, chia seeds, hemp seeds, and dried fruit; mix well.       
  4. Pour coconut oil/maple syrup/honey mixture over the dry ingredients and mix well to evenly coat.
  5. Spread onto a parchment or silpat-lined baking pan and spread out evenly.
  6. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until starting to brown.
  7. Remove from the oven and using a spatula give it a quick toss to break it into pieces.  Let cool and crumble a little further if you want to before storing in an airtight jar. 
  8. Enjoy!  This rarely lasts more than a couple of days at my house but if it does at your house it should stay fresh for about two weeks.

 

Soaked or Sprouted Nuts and Seeds           

            I’ve done a previous blog post about soaking nuts and you can find it here:  https://preciousbelovedblessing.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/crispy-walnuts-and-pecans-and-why-you-should-soak-them/.  Here I had prepared walnuts and pecans.  You can use this process with most nuts, although the cashews should be handled slightly differently.  The fact is “raw” cashews have already been heated twice and so they don’t lend as well to the soaking process but still have enzymes that should be neutralized; with a little extra care it is easily done.

 

Crispy Cashews

1 tablespoon sea saltSoak the cashews in the filtered water and salt for 6 hours and no longer.  Drain well.  Spread on a rimmed baking sheet and place in a warm oven (about 200 degrees) for 12 to 24 hours, turning every once in a while, until completely dry and crisp.  Store in an airtight container (I use a repurposed glass jar that I’ve labeled and keep them in my pantry).            For the sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds they can be sprouted.  Have you seen pepitas in the grocery store and wondered what the difference between them and regular pumpkin seeds is?  Pepitas have already been soaked and lightly roasted and they are one of the few I often buy.  Sprouted nuts and seeds can be bought at most health food stores, as can flour made from them, but I find them more expensive and choose to make my own.  It takes just a little time and a big batch lasts quite a while.  To sprout your seeds all you need is a quart-sized glass jar and a sprouting lid.  You can order the sprouting lids online, but I’ve found a few layers of cheesecloth held in place by the wire rim of the jar works fine.  Here’s how to sprout your sunflower and pumpkin seeds:

 

Sprouted Sunflower Seeds 

The process to start is the same – fill your jar as above and soak as indicated but rinse these 3 times a day and let your sprouts reach about ¼-inch long, about 3 days.  Store these in the refrigerator as well.  These are yummy in salads or as a quick snack…or in granola!           

 

            I hope I’ve inspired you to soak or sprout your nuts and seeds.  The little bit of time and effort well outweigh the nutritional benefits in my opinion.  On my most recent leg of my healing journey I have reintroduced nuts and seeds after initially eliminating them.  I can only handle limited amounts of them, but I have found the crispy nuts and sprouted seeds go down much easier.  See what they

            Happy eating and stay healthy!

 

Emily

 

Nourishing Traditions, by Sally Fallon with Mary G. Enig, Ph.D.; 1999, New Trends Publishing, Inc.; ISBN 0-9670897-3-5/978-0-9670897-3-7; pgs. 112-115, 512-515

Leave a Reply

