AIP Guacamole

013fa2c016ab7c803758a0dfb5b4df0aeccc03ef8a

This was not a planned post. I often develop a recipe over a few weeks, making it over and over to get it just right for you guys. Other times the magic simply happens.

I really wanted guacamole the other day! I have found replacements for many old favorites since starting to follow a modified autoimmune protocol diet, but I still miss things sometimes. Like Mexican food! The grains (aka corn tortillas and rice), beans, and nightshades (tomatoes, peppers, and cumin) just wreak havoc with my skin and digestive system and simply aren’t worth it. I love avocados and I love guacamole, so on Sunday when we were out and about and it sounded good we stopped and picked up some ingredients and whipped this up spur of the moment that night. It was so good I had to share!

We are moving in technically just over a week. I say technically because we got two weeks free at our new place so we are using that time to overlap the two and have all that free time to move, so technically we are moving into the new place on December 1 and out of the old on December 15. And we signed the new lease and gave notice to vacate here only a week ago. Crazy, I know. Moving right before Christmas is not something I recommend nor plan on making a holiday tradition (we moved on January 9 of this year into our current place)!

Why we are moving is a long story I considered sharing here then decided not to, but suffice it to say my stock response is security issues. We don’t feel safe here. There have been some creepy things going on that we are just not happy with and don’t feel secure or welcome here after how our property company has dealt with them and treated us so we have decided to move on. It sounds awful but we are very excited about it. It is all for the best!

I will definitely be making this again in the next couple of weeks! I have been planning some quick and easy but wholesome meals for our moving weeks. We drove through our new neighborhood (even though it is only exactly 2.1 miles away from our current place!) and staked out the closest grocery store, Starbucks, etc. and I checked out the local Albertson’s that is literally just around the corner. We have one close by now but I’m not crazy about it and rarely shop there; I simply need to make another trip for too much stuff so it’s not worth it for me. This one has a great organic produce section and several gluten-free favorites. I wasn’t able to really take the time to look for all my usuals, but I brought home some free-range, GMO-free verified chicken, an organic vegetable tray, and my favorite root vegetable chips (by Terra brand with sweet potato, beet, taro, and a few other paleo-friendly goodies). We spent the rest of the afternoon packing and just had a simple but very yummy supper. I put the chicken in the oven seasoned with sea salt, ginger, and garlic and made the guacamole while it was cooking.

This guacamole is AIP-friendly because it contains no nightshades. Instead of the usual jalapenos I used some horseradish for extra bite and a lot of onion, garlic, and fresh cilantro. The batch will easily double, triple, etc. and I bought a ton of avocados to make a bunch but I only fix it in smaller batches. It’s easy and doesn’t take long; nor does it last long enough to have a chance to get brown and watery.

I like to serve this a variety of ways; as already mentioned I ate it with sweet potato chips this time. I love it with plantain chips as well, but have been known to put guacamole on just about anything. Try it with eggs, on chicken or a hamburger (I was smearing it on the roasted chicken the other night!), on a roasted sweet potato, or any favorite grain-free cracker or bread. Jicama, carrots, and cucumber make good dippers too. And bacon; smear it on bacon. Think it sounds weird? Try it. You’ll thank me. The grain-free possibilities are endless – it’s not just for corn chips! What’s your favorite way to eat it?

Enjoy!


AIP Guacamole

Makes about 2 cups
2 ripe avocados
¼ large or ½ small onion
1-2 cloves fresh garlic
Juice of ½ a fresh lemon or lime (I like the taste of lime in guac but lemon works fine; I used it this time around because it was what I had on hand)
1 teaspoon horseradish (I use the Bubbie’s brand; it’s gluten-, preservative-, and junk-free)
A good-sized handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
Sea salt to taste (I used a good-sized pinch)

1. Using a fork, mash the avocado in a bowl with the lemon/lime juice. Finely chop the onion and garlic and mix in.
2. Wash and chop the cilantro and fold in with sea salt to taste.
3. Enjoy right away, or if you can stand it set aside for about an hour to allow the flavors to meld.

So easy! And good for you too! Everything is fresh and full of vitamin C, healthy fats, minerals, potassium, and a host of other goodies. I hope you like my AIP version of guacamole!

Note: To store, (if there’s any leftovers anyway!) place in the fridge with food wrap directly over the guac, completely covered and molded to it basically; it will help prevent browning. This really works!

Have a great week!

Emily

Leave a Reply

