Bone Broth Butternut Soup {Paleo, AIP, Dairy-Free}

01123c9db3071e9cc4cc2f433c988ca630caa00dc0

Still looking for one more dish for Thanksgiving? How about a lovely, comforting bowl of butternut squash soup that you can make today, have a bit for supper tonight, and then put in your slow cooker to keep warm for dinner tomorrow without a thing to do with it. Actual time I spent on this yesterday was only about twenty to thirty minutes.

I just realized something. I declared this AIP and dairy-free – and then used the picture of hubby’s bowl with the cheese on top! It was so much prettier than my plain one though! It is a raw, grass-fed cheddar which is primal. For me, I can handle small amounts of the right kind of dairy and I tasted this with the cheese and it was very good, but I liked it without just as well. It’s so creamy you would think it had dairy in it but there is none at all.

I started this yesterday morning, putting the squash in the slow cooker to slowly roast. I quartered it, removed the seeds, and placed it in the slow cooker; that was it. Then when we were ready to eat I sautéed my veggies and scooped the flesh from the skin. The skin of a butternut squash is edible and I think bits of it fell in as I was scooping because it got so tender, so it’s up to you. I take it off, but leave the skins of the apples on. No one will ever know and you get the extra vitamins the skin contains.

A quick note about bone broth. If you’re not making your own you need to start! It is so easy and delicious, not to mention economical. I buy an entire chicken and boil it and we get several meals out of the meat from the bones and at least two and sometimes three quarts of broth, depending how big the chicken is. Homemade bone broth is full of gut-healing gelatin and my family and I like it plain and hot, straight out of a coffee mug, but I always keep some in the freezer for meals like this. I pulled the jar out of the freezer the night before but I’ve also thawed them on the fly in a bowl of warm water. I used chicken (because it was what I had) but I used to make this with vegetable broth all the time; beef broth would also work. It’s a matter of taste.

Store-bought versions do not have the nutritional benefits of homemade and in addition they are often packed with sodium, gluten, and preservatives, among other things. It’s so easy to do too! Want to know more about this super food? Check out a previous post I did about it here: https://preciousbelovedblessing.wordpress.com/2014/09/12/homemade-bone-broth-from-a-whole-chicken-plus-a-yummy-soup-recipe-2/

01d21abc178859a2f8519751ff7e682339a50a1123

There’s another soup recipe in this post too; chicken and cabbage. It was a recipe of my mom’s I tried to recreate and though mine was very yummy it wasn’t as good as hers. I made it with her, basically acting as her sous chef, and did it just as she did, but I think that had more to do though with the fact it was my mama who made it. Everything she makes is always better! She taught me to cook and I am still learning from her! She lives in Nebraska and me in California, so I miss her – especially this week with it being a holiday! – but now I’m thinking about her and getting all sentimental so I should move on!

If you’ve read any of my other posts the last couple of weeks we are moving – in four days! It’s going to be a little crazy around here, so as yummy as this was last night I may freeze the leftovers to thaw in a week or so when we need something yummy and comforting after a busy day. I’ve got another batch of bone broth simmering in my slow cooker right this moment too! I’ll use it in a recipe of a grain-free stuffing dish I am making to take to Thanksgiving dinner at my aunt’s house and then maybe another dish or just a jar in the fridge for a quick, nutritional boost! (As excited as we are, moving can be a little stressful and you need to take care of yourself.)

One more note; butternut squash are at their peak now and one of my favorite vegetables. A former favorite recipe I have yet to convert is a butternut squash risotto recipe that is out of this world – I’m going to have to start working on that! You can peel and cube them now for freezing and enjoy this next spring and I’ve also found butternut squash all prepared in the frozen vegetable section. So while I recommend using fresh (it will have the best taste, trust me) it’s not necessary. I added lots of onion, garlic, and ginger too; since I learned all three were very healing with anti-inflammatory properties I add them prolifically to almost every savory dish I make now! This soup is also full of vitamins and with the extra veggies and the bit of fruit for sweetness I hope this will become one of your family’s favorites as it is ours!

Bone Broth Butternut Soup {Paleo, AIP, Dairy-Free}
1 small to medium butternut squash (about 1-1/2 to 2 pounds)
2 Tablespoons coconut oil
1 small onion, chopped
1-2 cloves garlic, crushed
1-inch knob of ginger, peeled and roughly chopped
4 carrots, peeled and sliced
1 apple, cored and roughly chopped
1 quart broth (whatever you have on hand, preferably homemade)
Sea salt to taste
1 Tablespoon dried thyme

Instructions:

Prepare ahead. Earlier in the day, rinse your squash and remove both ends with a large, sharp knife. I like to halve it width-wise (I find it easier that way) then lengthwise. Remove any seeds and place in a slow cooker on low heat. Let cook for at least four hours or until tender. Remove from slow cooker and let cool enough to handle. Scoop tender flesh from skin with a spoon and set aside.

When ready to make your soup take a large pot and place over medium- to medium-heat and add your coconut oil. When hot, add the onion and garlic and let it begin to cook. After a couple of minutes add the ginger, carrots, and apple. Sauté a few minutes, or until veggies begin to get tender. (Note: you don’t have to chop your veggies very fine as you will be blending this later; a rough chop will do.)

When tender add the broth and bring to a boil. Add cooked butternut squash.

Remove from heat and either purée with an immersion blender or add to a blender or food processor in batches and blend. (Be careful with the blender method when blending hot liquids; leave the top slightly vented and place a towel over the vent to prevent splatters.)

If puréeing in a blender return to pan and reheat slightly if necessary and season to taste. If desired, top with a little shredded cheese. Crumbled bacon or caramelized onions are also very good.

Serve and enjoy!

Happy Thanksgiving tomorrow! I am thankful for you! Have a blessed, happy, and healthy holiday.

Hugs to you,

Emily

Leave a Reply

