Happy Birthday to My Beloved

01786dbddc8120fa607aa2811b1970fdbd0dd28da3

* Just the Same *
I never got to hold you and bounce you on my lap,
I never got to read to you or watch you as you nap.
You slipped away so quickly, before I said your name.
And yet I want the world to know
I love you just the same.
~ Anne Peterson

Five years ago today, on April 28, 2010, at 3:06 p.m. my beautiful little Beloved Joshua James was born sleeping at twenty-two weeks gestation. Weighing in at only 1 pound, 2.7 ounces and 11-1/2-inches long he was completely perfect and beautiful with a sweet little round face and button nose and he totally stole my heart and left an imprint on my soul that will be there forever.

It’s hard to believe five years have passed. I miss him more now than I ever have. Enough it takes my breath away some days and makes me ache. We remember him how we can, honor him any way we can think of, and look forward to the day we will see him again.

Happy birthday up in Heaven, sweet boy. Mommy and Daddy really do love you just the same.

*Clockwise from top-right: me and my sweet Joshua. We were blessed with almost twelve hours to love on him. The blue blanket was a gift from my sister and her husband in memory of our sweet boy; the candle and bear were from one of his grandma’s, the ornament from a friend who had also experienced loss; this is from his Memorial Service. Angels on him and his brother’s shelf. Lighting a candle in front of his box of ashes in memory of him today. The plaque with the poem I posted above; this was gifted to us after Joshua’s death by a great-aunt who had also lost a baby; the little boy figure is one of two, called, Two Together. Joshua has an older brother with him in Heaven. It soothes our souls to honor our boys.


Emily

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to My Beloved

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart, your boys and your sorrow. I’m crying with you tonight for your boys and my daughter! 💕💕💕

Leave a Reply

